how should i sleep?

with his arm draped
around my softened shoulder
with his breath warming my left ear
which, by the way,
suddenly hears
everything assuredly now, —

he loves me,
he loves me,
he loves me,
only in beautiful ways
like Japan, shojis, and pagodas
without the listless haiku

he loves me in perceptible
clear stretches of exhalation
so that i’m allowed
to join him in vanishing
snow angel dreams
which will reveal this way
of living
[come morning]
with new shoulders

::

for Sanaa at Real Toads

13 thoughts on “how should i sleep?

  1. Eeeee❤️ This is soo incredibly stunning and romantic Angie! 😀 There is nothing quite like insomnia when one is blissfully in love! Especially love the image; “he loves me in perceptible clear stretches of exhalation so that i’m allowed to join him in vanishing snow angel dreams.” Beautifully executed. Thank you so much for participating!❤️

Type your words here:

