those shoes’ll do

“But all the magic I have known
I’ve had to make myself.” – Shel Silverstein

i’ve had to lace up
many a pair of shoes
with holes in the toes
lilac purple stains
on both sides
on days i’ve needed magic
(quartz, &poppy face guaranteed)
i’ve got shoes
i’m not afraid of getting hole-y
so if you’re not afraid too,
there’s magic
in your shoe,
–  i know because i’ve seen
old dogs on hind legs drinking
from the old silver horse trough
sparkling with rainwater

::

playing it again for RT

6 thoughts on “those shoes’ll do

    1. This was my directive for my birthday…order some new shoes! Of course I was playing too much, and writing this poem, to her that accomplish. Maybe today I’ll pick out my new trail shoe. Had to memorialize my old pair first 👟

Type your words here:

