some doors are open

when i can’t map
where’n the world
my heart is, –

say it’s over an ocean
or up in the air, –
you break in

tell me you should
write down some of the crazy
things i say

and my heart’s a ninny, –
smiling all toothy,
and laughing its left

ventricle off like
it’s free
admission to the circus

where only you and i eat pizza
with ricotta
dollops on top

like little islands
without borders, –
floating on red sauce

or green sauce
or white sauce, –
string lights on
a kaleidoscope wall

::

for Real Toads
&always Mackenzie

17 thoughts on “some doors are open

    1. Marian, I accept your your marriage proposal of words. lol. thank you for the enthusiasm when no one else was writing about pizza. i mean, it was national pizza day, and we did order the same cheese dollops:)

  1. Aiiiyeiiiyaaaa ❤️💖 a most beautiful and evocative poem Angie 😀 I love “like little islands without borders, – floating on red sauce or green sauce or white sauce, – string lights on a kaleidoscope wall” sigh.. beautifully done!❤️💖

    Lots of love,
    Sanaa

    1. Oh Michelle, I wrote this when I was stressing just a tad when she hadn’t contacted me upon landing. What you couldn’t see was me stress eating her leftover pizza for the hour and a half Time span I didn’t know where she was in digital space.I had to talk myself down that she probably just couldn’t find Wi-Fi. Much prayers appreciated for this newbie mother of a child traveler:)

  2. I love the way this flows – almost a desire expressed in a single breath. I also love the way the island of cheese on the pizza becomes an all-encompassing metaphor. Really excellent.

Type your words here:

