Vessel

Is it in my shell, or in my core?
Have I neglected to mention the rare
Barbecue in 1982? What’s wrong with me?
Even if I don’t speak of it, can’t you taste
The smoke in my throat, smell it on my lips?
It’s like a burning fire shut up in my bones.
And even when the sun sears for days,

And even when the breast of the moon
Leaves me lonely I can’t stop chewing
On the heft of it. Beside myself, –
On dirt roads, on top of silo barns,
Beside trickling brooks, in another place
Where rednecks huff on their harmonicas.
This heart is hot within me, –

[Fire from a different sun for Real Toads]

18 thoughts on “Vessel

  1. Wow! So many lines to love (and envy)…

    a burning fire shut up in my bones

    the breast of the moon
    Leaves me lonely I can’t stop chewing
    On the heft of it…

    The word ‘heft’ takes the image to a whole ‘nother level.

  2. “Even if I don’t speak of it, can’t you taste
    The smoke in my throat, smell it on my lips?
    It’s like a burning fire shut up in my bones.”

    Wow! I love those lines. Melancholy memories of passion are so haunting. They retain fire even when winter would try and freeze them out.

  3. Ang- here I am, almost 50 and savoring your words, just like I remember doing with all the cheesy poems you put in my locker in 6th grade—-I’m sure at 80, this feeble vessel will be doing the same thing, your words stinging my teary eyes with smokey memories. BBQ of 82?

    1. Here you are! The one who understands such love! I can’t Believe you went through the trouble to get on WordPress… But you did, and you still encourage me, and now when I write I hear your words. And now, more words from me to you, – I believe that the present suffering is nothing compared to the coming glory that is going to be revealed to us 🙋🏼👩‍❤️‍💋‍👩 Love you, and pray for your heart to be at peace, as I remember your mom’s words when you were in Australia… We have the same moon to look at when we are apart. Much love to you xo

  4. Like Kerry said above – So many words to envy.

    My favorite: And even when the breast of the moon
    Leaves me lonely I can’t stop chewing
    On the heft of it.

    This is definitely one of my absolute favorite poems, Angie.
    The wait you write about biblical themes is captivating. I never found the bible to be that beautiful (except for Solomon’s Songs – I don’t even know the correct term!)

    Thank you for starting my Sunday is the best way. xo

Type your words here:

