March 14, 1986

I wish I had listened
to you Coach, giving your
commencement speech
at Ohio State University.
I would have made sure,
that I’d never let the other
team beat me, Sir,
&pledge that I’d never
beat myself at my own game
either, like I did.
I wouldn’t have felt sorry
for myself so much,
opening up
the road to alcohol
&other tearing things.
I would have realized
I needed a mother.
One whom I could never
repay, so I’d have to
pay it forward.
I wish you’d say it again,
“You can outwork anybody,
Angie.” You know, Sir,
I almost believe I would
have found that to be true.

This fun Found Poetry prompt
had me digging through the best
commencement speeches ever.
This one was inspired
by Woody Hayes’ speech.

Type your words here:

