Come &See

Everyone says she’s painted,
so I keep my eyes peeled.
But I guess you have to be there
in a certain, much leaner light.
What I see is a huge basin
out the window of our Chevy beater,
a bowl which can only be filled
with the Shalom, the golden-throated
voice of Johnny &his sweet wife June.
Their banjo accompaniment.
I see the Alpha &Omega’s Kingdom
come. I see the whirlwind in the shelf.
I feel the rocks rattling; words which
were etched out long, long ago.
I listen harder now, because people are talking.
Here we are. A white horse. A rider named
death. Can you see a fiction writer sailing
on a lonesome sea? Can anyone understand me?

Sentiments of the Southwest
for dVerse Poetics
photo by Mish [re-done by me in b&w]

33 thoughts on “Come &See

    1. Today, a drop-out kid with a guitar was telling me his favorite is Johnny Cash. So I had to go listen to his oldies….and he had to show up in the desert. Thanks for stopping in Linda.

  1. Johnny and June Cash showing up in the desert. You can’t beat that. I love the narrative feel of this piece and the intriguing questions at the end. Thank you for joining in for the prompt. 🙂

  2. You have a vivid and colorful imagination ~ Specially love this part:

    I see the Alpha &Omega’s Kingdom
    come. I see the whirlwind in the shelf.

  3. I see a personal apocalypse, which is maybe how it happens. Rocks and buttes rather than the plain of Megiddo. Accompanying the seals, Cash and Carter Cash rather than angels’ trumpets. I don’t know, appeals to me.

  4. This is almost like one of their songs: Everyone says she’s painted, so I keep my eyes peeled…I see the Alpha &Omega’s Kingdom come. I see the whirlwind in the shelf…I can hear johnny’s voice singing these lines. Wonderful

    1. I’m so glad to hear this from you, Misky. You know I love just about everything you produce! I’m envious of your masses finds…trying to find words right now from junk mail.

Type your words here:

