If you’re a poet,

you can come to my party, but bring
that assonance you’re so famous for
-oh girl, you know you got to, or
I’ll just go on, & on, & on…
oh- I hope he comes too, schlepping in
his over-sized bag of brilliant & delicious
deceit, which you know that once opened,
will keep us in stitches until the room
is a bevy of exaggerations & we all take turns
riding the elegant elephant which magically
materializes in the middle of any plainly
appointed room, if you offer it some pretty
words like gaga or capricious. I’m looking
forward to being your host, or cat’s meow,
in the leopard leotard fishing for golden
gills & ballad thrills. Please consider it.
Here I am with my shovel digging like a fool,
probing for a paddling of ducks, anything
above water that will let me know we’re a-go.

[late to De’s party at dVerse]

27 thoughts on “If you’re a poet,

  1. This is awesome. Big smiles. 🙂

    These are my faves:

    “& we all take turns
    riding the elegant elephant”

    “but bring
    that assonance you’re so famous for”

    Today, I am missing my ass though. Have you seen it? I know it’s around here somewhere …

  2. Well…..feel better! I’m one later than you! Spending our last few days in Bermuda….and Bermuda beguiles, tempts, and takes me to her aquamarine waters rather than my computer! So there you go….
    But this…….oh that assonance of hers!!! This is a winner! LOVE it! So glad you made it to the bar….smiling I am!

  3. Angie, your poetic voice is truly currently one of my favorites. I absolutely love this, and you’ve tucked a few extra bird words in there, delightfully hidden behind their blinds…or perhaps tumbling out of “his over-sized bag of brilliant & delicious
    deceit”

    You delight me. So glad you played the prompt! 🙂

Type your words here:

