Today, I Feel So Significant

i am good
&broken.
no. i am a
blank
page.
an endless
day fading into
glittery night
that is all.

i am a prayer
for someone
else
i know,
or maybe don’t.
i am a nothing
doing something
broken
&good.

Prompted by Kerry over at Toads. My title is a line from Significant by Nishka Ramkhelawan, a talented young poet in 11th grade. Click to read the whole poem, & discover more incredible work Kerry has brought together at somewhere i have never travelled, a place to share student work.

23 thoughts on “Today, I Feel So Significant

  1. This is a powerful poem, Angie. You work the contrasting images very well, with excellent phrasing, to capture the mood in so few words.

  2. The brevity of your lines, the way they chop themselves off on a thought, makes for great impact, each word standing out, no fog of distraction around it. This is a geat gift, and the poem is nuanced and seriously good–reminding me of that Leonard Cohen line about the cracks are where the light gets in.

    1. Thanks for making feel like a good poet. I wish I could say something as intelligent to others in my replies. I’m usually brief and it’s a stab in the dark. Anyway, your comment made my day, so thanks for that gift.

    1. Taking care of pets day in and day out has got me wondering, “what the heck am I doing with my life?…taking time off from work”Funny thing is when I am awake in the middle of the night i will pray, and that seems to be the best work of all.

  3. Love the contrasts….how you make it clear, right from the get-go, that things that seem contradictory, can actually stand…can exist within yourself….as simultaneously true and okay.

Type your words here:

