Calisthenics 

Before I ask
my able/bodied legs to fly
there’s this niggling gnash of gray bones

And it is you
who is the morning/delivered
paper barking only bad news

Cold snap’s coming
for thin/skinned people like me who
know a cliff that could end it all

But, hey/it’s not
yet noon, not the end of the world
according to dogs on a walk

And my muscle
memory can move me up this
mountain so I can say/hello

And passers by
won’t know I’m trying to forget
you in between measured/breathing

6 thoughts on “Calisthenics 

Type your words here:

