The Year I Ran a Marathon

it was a year of
i can’t do shit
about what
the doctor said,
&i can’t do life
or wheelchairs,
so i might as well
slap the road.

i ran &ran
not akin to
the forest gump
i-just-felt-like
running thing,
but the i’m-worked-up
my-husband-won’t
walk-again thing.

halfway point
in life or the race
was where I
planned my
pull-out
&cowardly end,
but my man
showed up.

on shepherd street,
he shouted praise
&howled
you’re over
halfway there!
&i just knew
just knew we could
do this.

for Real Toads

24 thoughts on “The Year I Ran a Marathon

  1. This is quite a fiery and passionate poem..! 😀
    Love the tone and imagery… these lines struck me:

    i ran &ran
    not akin to
    the forest gump
    i-just-felt-like
    running thing,
    but the i’m-worked-up

    Sometimes we end up running towards the correct path.. the difficulties might hold obstacles but we always seem to find our way through them.
    Loved your poem immensely 🙂
    Keep up the spirit!
    Lots of love,
    Sanaa

  2. One of our dear friends just passed away last week. He’d been a quadriplegic for 43 years, and his wife has taken care of him all those years. Your poem reminded me of their love.

      1. Three more reasons why I know we are kindred sisters.
        I loved these beautiful and honest words.
        Keep running, my friend. I’ll try to catch you on the way back 🙂

      2. ASICS is what I’ve ran in for years. Two marathons and countless halves…now, if only I had the knees to accompany the shoes. I’ve been resigned to less than ten miles/week since surgery in October. I’ll have to live vicariously through you 🙂

      3. Loving the free floating feeling in my zero drop sky blue shoes. Will say a prayer for your knees while I’m out there…it’s the best time for praying.

Type your words here:

