after Marianne Moore

I, too, hate poetry:  people should be doing something
better with their lives
not so superfluous; you know–stupid.
I had to read poetry in our Holt Language & Literature Arts book,
because
it was for a grade,
and I suppose there
was sort of something in it

Like a thing-am-a-bob accordion, a silver thread to the moon, and a balloon filled with pretty people
All as important as my dad’s checkbook, or text messages and snapchats I send to my friends
because
those poetry things can be just as useful even if I don’t believe:
Jimmy Jet turns into a TV set, a mad girl flies off to the moon,
or a book is a Frigate; you know–not a bad word, but a boat.

The big green book, which is not my property, is turning Room 503
into an imaginary garden
where the boy who sits behind me and makes strange noises is a frog
and I’m a green tomato on a vine
waiting to happen.
And reading.
Turns out
I kind of like poetry.

Click on http://www.napowrimo.net/2014/04/day-eight/ for today’s prompt to re-write a famous poem. I chose Marianne Moore’s Poetry.  http://www.poemhunter.com/poem/poetry/

10 thoughts on “after Marianne Moore

Type your words here:

