Lid Off A Daffodil

il_340x270.533823181_t49i

O, stone, be not so
full of drudgery and strain!
You’re far too heavy,
and I want to sail away
wearing a Tahiti hat

that I might
never come back…
ever come back.

[I can’t believe this is the end of Trifecta.  Sadness.  While it’s a conundrum for me to find another great community of writers, this final entry is supposed to include a palindrome:  A word, phrase, verse, or sentence that reads the same backward and forward. I will miss you Trifectans like the lid off a daffodil!]

28 thoughts on “Lid Off A Daffodil

  1. Lovely palindromes and lovely sentiment, too. I was a judge, along with Kir and Gina, for one week this past summer and, let me tell you, it was a ridiculously silly amount of work. To do it, week in and week out, as Lisa and Joules have been doing, is amazing to me. It was definitely a full-time job so, I am not surprised that they are stepping away and attempting to have a life. Thanks to them, I have met great writers and people like you. I respect your talent and am grateful to have had your great work to read. It has helped me grow as a writer. Take care, Angie and, best of luck in the world beyond Trifecta. 🙂

    1. So, out from behind the veil, eh? I guess I’m kind of making a a Wizard of Oz reference to the Trifecta team, though I’m unsure why…great and powerful, ya, a hoax, definitely not! I was always amazed with the thoughtful and artful prompts, which elicited creative responses. Great reads…I will miss. As iron sharpens iron, I hope you find more great tools to help you grow on wordpress.

  2. Lid off a daffodil. What memories of Wordsworth that conjures up. A way with words, that’s what you have, Angie.

  3. Love the title, love the pompous lead into Tahiti hat!!! What an image. Somehow I saw you sailing away beside Valerie. lol Great post.

    1. Thanks, Kymm. I read Valerie’s post before I wrote mine….so perhaps we left port around the same time. It’s sad that Trifecta is ending. Will have to keep up with all you good folk

  4. Oh, Angie! I loved this! I just want to sail away wearing a Tahiti hat too:) It’s been a privilege reading your work here. I’m going to miss you:)

      1. yes…but I do not post my work there anymore…it’s just a neglected page without all the seemingly obligatory photos my kids disapprove of me posting anyway. (look for Angie Walker)

      2. I post more photos of my dog than my daughter-my dog can’t cover her face when I try to take a picture;) I’m not terribly active there myself-but I’ll look for you though:)

  5. Awesomeness.

    I’m sad, too. 😦 Boooo. But I understand completely. The very few weeks I’ve had a little time and tried to get around to read everybody…WHEW! I’ve wondered how the heck they do it every week.

  6. Reading through all the entries tonight, I can’t help but get jealous. This is an example. How drudgery and strain, get mixed up with a Tahiti hat, and still still seem that if one or the other was missing it would all be destroyed, I don’t know. It must just be a gift some people have. I believe this to be an example of genuine voice, and lovely tone. Nice work!

    1. I seriously love your comment, though I take it with a pinch of salt over my shrinking shoulders. We all have our doubtful days, don’t we? It helps to put yourself out there, regardless of who “gets it” or not. Love your own voice.

  7. I love the palindromes you have chosen. The sentiment in your poem is beautiful – the heaviness of stone, lightness of a Tahiti hat, the wanting to sail away – all wonderful.

      1. Thank you for the sentiments you sent back in letting me know that! Your posts arrive in my inbox so I can read your wonderful pieces as and when they arrive. 🙂

Type your words here:

