Chanute?

gas stationChanute? It didn’t add up too good there.  Ross got fired from his job at the two pump station in less than a week. I ain’t lying.

He couldn’t count change. Not for nothing. Gas, sweet-leaf baccy, or them Baby Ruths.

But, yes sir- you can bet we did what we had to, with seven mouths to feed.
big family

My sweet devil. A sixth grade education only got him so far. He kept his customers waiting, while he dialed me back at home.  I did the figuring, see.  I had to figure, something was better than nothing.

That’d be Chanute.

50's guy

This week we were given a page from the Oxford English Dictionary.  The ninety-ninth page, to be exact, to celebrate Trifecta’s ninety-ninth writing challenge. From the dictionary page, we chose any word, any definition, to use in our post. And instead of the typical 33-333 word limit, we were asked for 99 words exactly. The word I chose was baccy (colloquial for tobacco), in honor of my fearless Grandpa Ross.

You can write your own 99-word story and link up here: http://www.trifectawritingchallenge.com/  ($99 is the booty!) 

 

20 thoughts on “Chanute?

  1. it “Sounded” so perfect, the verbiage is spot on and works so well with the pictures.

    it was really, really good.

  2. Amazing! This is why I love The Internet so much. Discovering gems such as this entry. Thank you for inspiring me to tap into my creativity. 🙂

Type your words here:

