Through the Forest

On good days
Daddy would open his eyes

Now look here, young lady…
I’d look but not see

The invisible paper
He wadded up

In front of me
With sass words

Inscribed, supposedly
A game of keep away

Hurry up, daddy!
Before the moon

Swallows the entire sun
I need to remember how

To find the way back to
The twinkle in your eye

I’ll crinkle all the words,
Make a Hansel and Gretel trail

Through the forest
To the clearing, or that part

Where you accidentally touched
My hair and my heart

It’s a good day, daddy
You can open your eyes

4 thoughts on “Through the Forest

  1. I love these lines: “Before the moon / Swallows the entire sun.” Great visual marking the passage of time.

Type your words here:

