“Who Are These People?”

It was groveling time. My hubby showed up to dinner when the rest of us were halfway through. He mumbled, “I’m sorry,” after he inhaled his plate. Ten minutes later, when I was on the couch, he began his John Stewart impersonation–the sophomoric one with the high falsetto. Here we go. Mister comedian began to serenade me, “I’ve nominated you for an awaaaarrrrd!”

Well let’s have it then, dinner-ditcher. Let me hear you say I’m aces in the kitchen, and even better at holding my tongue. Tell me you’re the luckiest man alive and don’t deserve such a kind and supportive woman, or the low-calorie meal I prepared. Give it to me. Give. It. To. Me.

He could see I expected him to come up with some superlatives that would get him out of the doghouse, so he broke character and said, “No, really. You have an award. Who are these people who pop up on our iPad?”

“Huh? Let me see that.”

It seems Life On Wry nominated me for the WordPress Family Award. Wait, what? I swallowed my smirk and let my hubby off the hook. Someone in my blogging family–the one whose life mirrored my own, sandwiched between teenagers and Alzheimer’s–had whipped up a special after dinner treat for moi. Aren’t I lucky to be a part of the WordPress family? I told my hubby “these people” were “my other family,” the ones who weren’t late for dinner.

The founder of the The WordPress Family Award established the award because they felt that the WordPress family had taken them in and showed them love and care like a family, always there for them. Even though we may never meet in person, I feel like we are kindred spirits connected by the love of writing.

Here are the rules to accept the WordPress Family Award:

1. Display the award logo on your blog.
2. Link back to the person who nominated you.
3. Nominate 10 bloggers who’ve had an impact on your WordPress experience
4. Let them know you have awarded them
5. That is it. Just please pick 10 bloggers that have taken you in, and spread the love.

I hope you will stop over at my extended family’s bloggy homes. There’s always room at the table.

  1. Lorisprayercloset
  2. A Prayer Like Gravity
  3. HumanTriumphant
  4. Susan Daniels Poetry
  5. Rarasaur
  6. Meanwhile, Melody Muses…
  7. Virtual Iridescence
  8. Living The Story
  9. T. W. Dittmer
  10. “Ye Shall Know Me By My Fruits”
13 thoughts on ““Who Are These People?”

  1. Angie, this is perhaps the most creative intro to a Blog Award that I’ve yet seen. Do I detect a burgeoning memoirist in our midst? Methinks so.

    Oh, and thank you for the nomination. I am truly honored. 🙂

  2. I would never be late to dinner, Ang, haha! 😀 Loved the intro. Congrats on your award, and thank you for considering me part of your Other Family– you’re part of mine as well! 🙂

Type your words here:

