The Gory Details

I.
First,
It was his right arm
Growing inside
His slippery jacket sleeve.

II.
It crept across the top of
My purple fuzzy seat back.

III.
Sgt. Pepper and his lonely
Heart Club Band played back-up
To Bernie’s smooth move and
I shuddered to think
He would keep
moving in
with those lips.
God! They were huge.
I think they grew four times
In the dark.
It’s hard to say

IV.
Between the Mike and Ike’s
And Bernie, the sweet but
Sweaty pubescent boy–

V.
It’s hard to say
When they rolled the credits,
Brought up the lights.
When did those lips shrink
Back to size?

This weekend we’re asking for exactly 33 words including an idiom somewhere within. Examples of idioms include – add fuel to the fire or wear your heart on your sleeve. My idiom was “the gory details.” Keeping it light on this Good Friday!
http://www.trifectawritingchallenge.blogspot.com/

Oopsy, the Trifecta Team reminded me to read the instructions (duh)…Below is my condensed, rule-abiding version↓

I.
It was his right arm
growing inside
his slippery jacket sleeve

II.
His lips
grew four times
in the dark

III.
His lips-
huge!

IV.
Pubescent, sweaty,
smooth-move-Bernie

(all of seventh grade’s gory details)

18 Comments

  1. While I like this longer piece – “exactly 33 words including an idiom somewhere within” is the request. I know it’s hard sometimes to work within the parameters – I always have trouble honing my pieces down to the required number of words, too,, 🙂

    • I actually love condensing…breif is better in my book. (now to actually remember that the next time my fingers fly over the keys)

  2. Those 33 have become weird, gross and creepy enough to stand for any adolescent moment. Ever. lol

Type your words here:

