Pulling at Strands

Daughter of my womb, with hair that caused me heartburn as I carried you seventeen long years ago,

you rubbed it

clean off  your downy little head

in the crib I assembled and there tied a billowy bumper.

Breezy hair now streams past your shoulders

and it’s everything you wish it weren’t–too fine, undecided, wavy or straight?

 I catch you examining split ends

but I know you’re glorious!

You flippantly towel-dry your tousled long locks and the room is filled

with jasmine myrrh that drips from your raking fingers.  My lucky hand involuntarily reaches toward your light.  I  pretend I’m solely testing the conditioner I brought back from the grocery store.

You flinch and say, “Mom, what are you doing?!”

My heart burns a little

so I push it down deep to the place where you and I once co-existed; thriving together, secretly attached to that one necessary life

strand.

LUCKY (adjective)

1: having good luck
2: happening by chance : fortuitous
3: producing or resulting in good by chance : favorable

Please remember:

  • Your response must be between 33 and 333 words.
  • You must use the 3rd definition of the given word in your post.
  • The word itself needs to be included in your response.
17 thoughts on “Pulling at Strands

Type your words here:

