Aside

I want to help him,
mother him,
(infect him like the rest of us).
Poor little boy
can’t
draw a dumb bunny.
I hop over,
scratch out
an Easter rabbit
on white paper;
one ear up and
one ear down
for the needy spectacled
special boy.
Teacher says,
“Let him do his own work.”
Don’t say that.
Let me be special
(too).

Trifecta Writing Challenge INFECT 1: to contaminate with a disease-producing substance or agent (as bacteria) 2a : to communicate a pathogen or a disease to b : of a pathogenic organism : to invade (an individual or organ) usually by penetration c : of a computer virus : to become transmitted and copied to (as a computer) 3a : contaminate, corrupt    b : to work upon or seize upon so as to induce sympathy, belief, or support <trying to infect their salespeople with their enthusiasm>

  • Your response must be between 33 and 333 words.
  • You must use the 3rd definition of the given word in your post.
  • The word itself needs to be included in your response.
Somebunny Special

12 thoughts on “Somebunny Special

    1. To me, life is not exactly like a box of chocolates. It’s more like the litmus lozenges the librarian in “Because of Winn-Dixie” gives the girl that tastes like melancholy. Sweet and sad at the same time.

  1. Love your poem. I am always itching to ‘correct’ my kids’ drawings but then I remember how much I hated it when my mom did it to me so I don’t! Their drawings are perfect as they are.

Type your words here:

