(Inspired by) Jesus and Coffee

Above the coffee pot, 
Creamer and red stirring sticks,
Hangs someone’s rendering 
Of the Christ who understands
 
Users and abusers
Saints and sinners dribble in
Through obscure church entry doors
For street corner meetings
 
The program lasts an hour
And at two before seven
A man slams his car door
And snuffs out a cigarette
 
Inside he pours a cup
Of ground beans washed with water
To cut nerves he smacks gum
And bites his nails to the nubs
 
“My name is Jonathon,
And I’m an alcoholic.
But praise the Lord, I’m clean 
And dry for forty-one days.”
 
He ingests black caffeine
And no one passes judgment
Just a plate and a prayer
Simply let go and let God
 
While Jesus hangs on the wall
Each stranger clasps a hand
“It works if you work it”
Sweet Jesus and coffee
 

This scene popped into my psyche after reading an excerpt from Obama’s Dreams from My Father about his early work as a community organizer using church basements for gatherings.  I’ve noted how in my own church  Jesus’ portrait curiously hangs above the coffee station. lol  I also went way back to my required AA Meetings in Pasadena which Fuller Seminary required me to attend for training.  Jesus and stimulants–the best of times, the worst of times.
One thought on “(Inspired by) Jesus and Coffee

  1. We’ll be praying for Dohn…keep us posted. Love, T & S

    Do you not know that those who run in a race all run, but one receives the prize? Run in such a way that you may obtain it (I Cor. 9:24).

Type your words here:

