(Inspired by) Shears

Pruning shears.Okay,maybe it’s because my Halloween post had a crazed headless woman holding an electric hedge cutter that John chapter 15 (The vine and the branches) has been on my mind all week.  Or maybe it’s because my bible study had a day’s work entitled “The Gardner’s Shears” or because my sunday school class on II Corinthians touched on reaping…hmmm  Or maybe it’s because my e-devotional from Anne Graham today was about, you guessed it,  “The Gardener.”   I’d have to be stupid not to think God was speaking to me through this passage of scripture!

You bet I ruminated about these clippers, shears, cutters–whatever you want to call them, and their function in my life as I know it is written that the word is as sharp as a two-edged sword dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow.   I tried to uncover exactly which part of my life was a “sucker shoot,” or a part that grows out of control, desiring to be noticed but sapping energy from overall growth.  One new discovery I made about this passage is that the pruning process is not terrible, but a cleansing one, as verse 3 says, “Now you are clean through the word which I have spoken to you.”  Every branch that God “purges” he cleans.  This translation is accurate.  This is cathartic and comforting that the Master Gardener is “cleaning” (pruning) me, as long as I stay connected to him by reading the word, and being places where the word is taught.  There are a hundred other horticultural, spiritual, or moral lessons to be learned from the True Vine, to be sure.  I’m just glad I’m being cared for and don’t have to worry too much about how it is I am growing.

English: Anne Graham Lotz
Anne Graham Lotz

Check out Anne’s blip on the Gardener at

The Gardener – Today’s e-Devotion – AnGeL Ministries – Anne Graham Lotz.

One thought on “(Inspired by) Shears

Type your words here:

