(Inspired by) Obedience

English: The Sin of Nadab and Abihu, as in Lev...

Fire is still flickering in my brain.  Last month I focused on God talking to Moses through the burning bush (my husband liked that one).  Now, it is the profane or strange fire from Leviticus 10 which has my attention (husband wonders how this can inspire).  I hope I’m not over-cooking this topic, but in this instance it’s better for this to be well-done, instead of US.

Moses’ nephews, the sons of Aaron, Nadab and Abihu offered some strange (wrong or unauthorized) fire before the Lord, which He commanded them not.  As a result, they died on-the-spot.  Some scholars believe these two men were not powered by the Holy Spirit, but of liquor spirits.  Priests back then had very specific instructions for offering sacrifices to the Lord.

Long story, short–Nadab and Abihu were the wrong people to approach the holy of holies, they acted at the wrong time, they were under the wrong authority, they used the wrong fire, had a wrong motive and depended on the wrong energy.  Today, if all believers were killed for acting on wrong impulses–not many would be left! Praise God for the age of Grace.   Ask yourself:

Do I honor the Holy Spirit’s fire, or do I concoct my own?

Note to Hubby:  Fires can be inspiring, particularly if you don’t want to be in one!
2 thoughts on “(Inspired by) Obedience

  1. Us ladies are still working our way closer to the Holy of Holies in Beth Moore’s study, “A Woman’s Heart, God’s Dwelling Place.” 3 more sessions left. “Profane Fire” sticks in my brain the way “Strange Brew” does…but there’s a correlation I couldn’t quite connect:)

Type your words here:

