(Inspired by) my Muse

Wednesday night friends ask
If I have premonitions,
As death is my constant muse.
Hell no!
 
I’ll die when I’m good and ripe.
Unlike the beauty on highway 33
Beneath the farmer’s
Tomato truck.
 
I know,
My God,
What a way to go!
All I’m saying is

I’m still writing–
Writing my guts out
And my pen
Gushes life and death
 
Laid out
Like her small intestine
All twenty-three feet,
Four inches of it.
 
Tell me how,
How can you not appreciate 
Drawing closer and closer
To her

I’m okay, dear friends,
Though I visit her there
Under the muddied wheel,
You should know–don’t you know?

That her soul
My soul, your soul–
All souls, are never in
Need of repair.

Type your words here:

